Wednesday, 4 March 2009

Renaming of the High Courts in South Africa

For special attention of all litigation lawyers, the 13 High Courts in RSA have changed their name with immediate effect according to the Renaming of the High Courts Act, 2008 which came into force on 1 March. The Cape High Court has apparently issued a notice advising that it would not accept any papers with the incorrect name. The Witwatersrand Local Division and Transvaal Provincial Division (rather, the South Gauteng High Court, Johannesburg, and the North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria) may adopt the same approach. (source: Miles Carter, Bowman Gilfillan)

No comments: